Board of Directors

Tim Spelman, President


Tim is a retired architect with 37 years of experience. He was a partner with HEWITT, a downtown architecture firm of 50 people with deep experience in multifamily housing and public work. Tim joined the EWorks Board in 2010, and currently serves as President. He joined the Board and continues to serve because of the opportunity of creating environments for Washington State’s most vulnerable populations.

Bob Fish, Vice President

Loan Officer, HomeStreet Bank (retired)

Shaping the physical environment is one of the most basic ways people interact with the world. Environmental Works provides people who would otherwise lack the tools the capacity to successfully shape their environment in collaboration with other people and in harmony with nature. People who have had this experience realize that they have the ability to successfully approach opportunities and challenges in life as a whole.

I worked as a community planner and non-profit housing developer for 14 years, 11 of those with Environmental Works. In 1988 I began a career in residential mortgage banking, which I did until 2015. My interests outside of work include human powered outdoor recreation of all kinds.

Annette Strand, Treasurer

Actuary, Willis Towers Watson (retired)

Annette brings a background of both business and nonprofit organization experience to the board. She retired after 36 years working as an actuary and retirement plan consultant, most recently as the Pacific Northwest retirement practice leader for Willis Towers Watson. Annette received bachelor’s degrees in Mathematics and English from St. Olaf College and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries. Before joining the EWorks Board, Annette was the treasurer for a local charity, where she continues to volunteer.

David Barlow, Co-Secretary

Attorney, McKenzie Rothwell Barlow & Coughran, PS

David Barlow has practiced labor law for nearly 35 years, both in the public sector with the U.S. Department of Labor and the National Labor Relations Board, and in private practice.

Anjana Sundaram, Co-Secretary

Data Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Ani has worked with the Gates Foundation since 2012, with a focus on data analytics and social sector research.


Ann Marie Borys

Architect/Associate Professor, Department of Architecture, University of Washington

My career has included a mixture of professional practice, teaching, and administration in higher education. I am excited to be part of the Environmental Works Board of Directors because I am inspired by its mission and the dedication of the staff who have devoted their professional careers to serving communities and their needs. The participatory design approach that EWorks uses to partner with clients and communities is an important model for the whole profession today.

Mark Brown

Senior Project Manager, Architectural Design Engineer, Starbucks

Trained as an architect, Mark Brown works with the Facilities Team at Starbucks Coffee Company.

Larry Goetz

Architect, NBBJ (retired)

Larry was a founder of Environmental Works, and has served on the board since its early days.  His career in architecture spanned more than four decades, including 35 years with NBBJ.

Holly Golden

Attorney, Hillis Clark Martin and Peterson

I joined Environmental Works because it represents a fantastic intersection between my experience as a land use lawyer and my interest in community-oriented design. The built environment plays an enormous role in our daily lives. It’s exciting to be part of an organization that takes such a creative and thoughtful approach to designing vibrant and functional spaces that reflect the needs of the communities they serve.

Linda Josephson

Attorney, McKenzie Rothwell Barlow & Coughran, PS

Linda has practiced law with a focus on employee benefits for more than 25 years.

Robin Krueger

Chief Financial Officer, Northwest Center

Robin joined Northwest Center’s executive team as Chief Financial Officer in 2013 with deep experience in executive financial leadership, accounting, and information technology. Robin has filled senior financial leadership roles with an array of early stage companies, as well as having worked with Alaska Airlines and PACCAR.

Lynn Perkins

Lynn served as Senior Project Manager for the design and construction of the 900,000 square foot headquarters of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, including obtaining LEED Platinum certification, as well as several post-occupancy projects.